e99 Store Help
Store Home  Browse:   Books ... Parenting & Families


Image Size:   Small  Medium  
  • Adoption
  • Aging Parents
  • Education
  • Family Activities
  • Family Health
  • Family Relationships
  • Fertility
  • General
  • Literature Guides
  • Humor
  • Parenting
  • Reference
  • Pregnancy & Childbirth
  • Special Needs
  • 1-10 of 316314 Results       Next
    $9.59 (40% off)
    The 5 Love Languages
    $15.57 (40% off)
    Option B
    $11.00 (35% off)
    The Glass Castle
    $10.04 (37% off)
    What to Expect When
    $16.75 (40% off)
    The Vanishing American
    $15.46 (41% off)
    Hunger
    $17.77 (11% off)
    Becoming Brilliant
    $19.76 (34% off)
    The Knot Ultimate Wedding
    $12.79 (25% off)
    The 7 Habits of Highly
    $13.46 (10% off)
    Go the F**k to Sleep


    1. The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts
    by Gary Chapman
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$15.99
    US$9.59
    US$6.4 (40%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Moody Publishing
    (2015-01-01)
    Publisher: Northfield Publishing
    ISBN: 080241270X
    Sales Rank: 8
    Lowest New Price: $3.99
    Lowest Used Price: $2.10 (139 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    - Over 11 million copies sold

    - #1 New York Times Bestseller for 8 years running

    - Now celebrating its 25th anniversary

     

    Simple ideas, lasting love

    Falling in love is easy. Staying in love—that’s the challenge. How can you keep your relationship fresh and growing amid the demands, conflicts, and just plain boredom of everyday life?

    In the #1 New York Times bestseller The 5 Love Languages, you’ll discover the secret that has transformed millions of relationships worldwide. Whether your relationship is flourishing or failing, Dr. Gary Chapman’s proven approach to showing and receiving love will help you experience deeper and richer levels of intimacy with your partner—starting today.

    The 5 Love Languages is as practical as it is insightful. Updated to reflect the complexities of relationships today, this new edition reveals intrinsic truths and applies relevant, actionable wisdom in ways that work.

    Includes the Couple's Personal Profile assessment so you can discover your love language and that of your loved one.

    Amazon.com Review

    Unhappiness in marriage often has a simple root cause: we speak different love languages, believes Dr. Gary Chapman. While working as a marriage counselor for more than 30 years, he identified five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. In a friendly, often humorous style, he unpacks each one. Some husbands or wives may crave focused attention; another needs regular praise. Gifts are highly important to one spouse, while another sees fixing a leaky faucet, ironing a shirt, or cooking a meal as filling their "love tank." Some partners might find physical touch makes them feel valued: holding hands, giving back rubs, and sexual contact. Chapman illustrates each love language with real-life examples from his counseling practice.

    How do you discover your spouse’s – and your own – love language? Chapman’s short questionnaires are one of several ways to find out. Throughout the book, he also includes application questions that can be answered more extensively in the beautifully detailed companion leather journal (an exclusive Amazon.com set). Each section of the journal corresponds with a chapter from the book, offering opportunities for deeper reflection on your marriage.

    Although some readers may find choosing to love a spouse that they no longer even like –hoping the feelings of affection will follow later– a difficult concept to swallow, Chapman promises that the results will be worth the effort. "Love is a choice," says Chapman. "And either partner can start the process today." --Cindy Crosby. This text refers to the Amazon.com Exclusive Journal & Paperback Book Set.

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • The 5 Love Languages The Secret to Love That Lasts

    Similar Items:
    1. The 5 Love Languages for Men: Tools for Making a Good Relationship Great
    2. The 5 Love Languages of Children: The Secret to Loving Children Effectively
    3. The 5 Love Languages Singles Edition: The Secret that Will Revolutionize Your Relationships
    4. Things I Wish I'd Known Before We Got Married
    5. The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: The Secret to Loving Teens Effectively
    6. The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work: A Practical Guide from the Country's Foremost Relationship Expert
    7. When Sorry Isn't Enough: Making Things Right with Those You Love
    8. Love & Respect: The Love She Most Desires; The Respect He Desperately Needs
    9. Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus: The Classic Guide to Understanding the Opposite Sex
    10. The 5 Love Languages Military Edition: The Secret to Love That Lasts .

    2. Option B: Facing Adversity, Building Resilience, and Finding Joy
    by Sheryl Sandberg, Adam Grant
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$25.95
    US$15.57
    US$10.38 (40%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: KNOPF
    (2017-04-24)
    Publisher: Knopf
    ISBN: 1524732680
    Sales Rank: 39
    Lowest New Price: $9.02
    Lowest Used Price: $6.81 (43 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    #1 New York Times Best Seller

    From Facebook’s COO and Wharton’s top-rated professor, the #1 New York Times best-selling authors of Lean In and Originals: a powerful, inspiring, and practical book about building resilience and moving forward after life’s inevitable setbacks.

     
    After the sudden death of her husband, Sheryl Sandberg felt certain that she and her children would never feel pure joy again. “I was in ‘the void,’” she writes, “a vast emptiness that fills your heart and lungs and restricts your ability to think or even breathe.” Her friend Adam Grant, a psychologist at Wharton, told her there are concrete steps people can take to recover and rebound from life-shattering experiences. We are not born with a fixed amount of resilience. It is a muscle that everyone can build.
    Option B combines Sheryl’s personal insights with Adam’s eye-opening research on finding strength in the face of adversity. Beginning with the gut-wrenching moment when she finds her husband, Dave Goldberg, collapsed on a gym floor, Sheryl opens up her heart—and her journal—to describe the acute grief and isolation she felt in the wake of his death. But Option B goes beyond Sheryl’s loss to explore how a broad range of people have overcome hardships including illness, job loss, sexual assault, natural disasters, and the violence of war. Their stories reveal the capacity of the human spirit to persevere . . . and to rediscover joy.
    Resilience comes from deep within us and from support outside us. Even after the most devastating events, it is possible to grow by finding deeper meaning and gaining greater appreciation in our lives. Option B illuminates how to help others in crisis, develop compassion for ourselves, raise strong children, and create resilient families, communities, and workplaces. Many of these lessons can be applied to everyday struggles, allowing us to brave whatever lies ahead. Two weeks after losing her husband, Sheryl was preparing for a father-child activity. “I want Dave,” she cried. Her friend replied, “Option A is not available,” and then promised to help her make the most of Option B.
    We all live some form of Option B. This book will help us all make the most of it.

    Amazon.com Review

    An Amazon Best Book of April 2017: After the unexpected passing of her beloved husband, Facebook COO and bestselling author of Lean In, Sheryl Sandberg, feared that she and her children would never find joy again. Fortunately this fear was unfounded. Option B: Facing Adversity, Building Resilience, and Finding Joy--co-authored with psychologist and friend Adam Grant--shows you how Sandberg, and many others who have overcome a wide range of profound hardships, triumphed over tragedy. The book posits that it’s helpful to think of resilience like a muscle, one that atrophies in the calm between the storms of our lives. But there are things we can do to develop it, so we’re better prepared when adversity strikes. In America, culture can put a kink in this plan. Processing a painful event can be hindered when you’re wired not to talk about it. We all know that when someone asks how we’re doing, the expected response is “fine,” no matter if we’ve just lost a limb, or had a cancer scare. We will grin, and we will bear it, and we will go back to work too soon and burst into tears in the copy room when confronted by a malevolent stapler (or maybe that’s just me). Recently, Sandberg helped to enact a new employee benefit at Facebook: 20 days of paid bereavement leave, twice the amount that was offered previously. As she explains in Option B, it’s the humane thing to do, and it also makes good business sense; compassionate companies engender more loyal employees. In this way, Option B is more than a little revolutionary. It challenges us to change systems that don’t always take our humanness into account. And that’s something we need to do on a personal level as well. None of us are immune to misfortune and heartbreak. We need to cut ourselves some slack when times get tough, and, as Sandberg discovered, flip the golden rule: When a loved one is in distress, instead of treating them how you would want to be treated, consider how they want to be treated, which may be quite different. Option B starts an (oftentimes) uncomfortable but important conversation. If we lean in to the numerous lessons it has on offer, there’s a lot more joy to be found. --Erin Kodicek, The Amazon Book Review

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • KNOPF

    Similar Items:
    1. Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead
    2. Summary: Option B: Facing Adversity, Build Resilience, and Finding Joy by Sheryl Sandberg
    3. Give and Take: Why Helping Others Drives Our Success
    4. Resilient Grieving: Finding Strength and Embracing Life After a Loss That Changes Everything
    5. Originals: How Non-Conformists Move the World
    6. Originals: How Non-Conformists Move the World
    7. Deep and Wide: Creating Churches Unchurched People Love to Attend
    8. Lean In for Graduates: With New Chapters by Experts, Including Find Your First Job, Negotiate Your Salary, and Own Who You Are
    9. Give and Take: Why Helping Others Drives Our Success
    10. Willpower: Rediscovering the Greatest Human Strength .


    3. The Glass Castle: A Memoir
    by Jeannette Walls
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$17.00
    US$11.00
    US$6 (35%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Scribner
    (2006-01-17)
    Publisher: Scribner
    ISBN: 074324754X
    Sales Rank: 26
    Lowest New Price: $6.47
    Lowest Used Price: $0.79 (786 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, and Naomi Watts.

    MORE THAN SEVEN YEARS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST
    The perennially bestselling, extraordinary, one-of-a-kind, “nothing short of spectacular” (Entertainment Weekly) memoir from one of the world’s most gifted storytellers.

    The Glass Castle is a remarkable memoir of resilience and redemption, and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn’t want the responsibility of raising a family.

    The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered.

    The Glass Castle is truly astonishing—a memoir permeated by the intense love of a peculiar but loyal family.

    Amazon.com Review

    Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the beginning, they lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children's imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and above all, how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary, who painted and wrote and couldn't stand the responsibility of providing for her family, called herself an "excitement addict." Cooking a meal that would be consumed in fifteen minutes had no appeal when she could make a painting that might last forever.

    Later, when the money ran out, or the romance of the wandering life faded, the Walls retreated to the dismal West Virginia mining town -- and the family -- Rex Walls had done everything he could to escape. He drank. He stole the grocery money and disappeared for days. As the dysfunction of the family escalated, Jeannette and her brother and sisters had to fend for themselves, supporting one another as they weathered their parents' betrayals and, finally, found the resources and will to leave home.

    What is so astonishing about Jeannette Walls is not just that she had the guts and tenacity and intelligence to get out, but that she describes her parents with such deep affection and generosity. Hers is a story of triumph against all odds, but also a tender, moving tale of unconditional love in a family that despite its profound flaws gave her the fiery determination to carve out a successful life on her own terms.

    For two decades, Jeannette Walls hid her roots. Now she tells her own story. A regular contributor to MSNBC.com, she lives in New York and Long Island and is married to the writer John Taylor.

    An exclusive Q&A with Jeannette Walls, author of The Glass Castle

    Q: How long did it take you to write The Glass Castle and what was that process like?

    A: Writing about myself, and about intensely personal and potentially embarrassing experiences, was unlike anything I’d done before. Over the last 25 years, I wrote many versions of this memoir -- sometimes pounding out 220 pages in a single weekend. But I always threw out the pages. At one point I tried to fictionalize it, but that didn't work either.

    When I was finally ready, I wrote it entirely on the weekends, getting to my desk by 7:30 or 8:00 a.m. and continuing until 6:00 or 7:00 p.m. I wrote the first draft in about six weeks -- but then I spent three or four years rewriting it. My husband, John Taylor, who is also a writer, observed all this approvingly and quoted John Fowles, who said that a book should be like a child: conceived in passion and reared with care.

    Q: How did you decide to follow The Glass Castle with Half Broke Horses?

    A: It was completely at the suggestion of readers. So many people kept saying the next book should be about my mother. Readers understood my father's recklessness because they understood alcoholism, but Mom was a mystery to them. Why, they would ask, would someone with the resources to lead a normal life choose the existence that she did?

    I would tell them a little bit about my mother’s childhood. She not only knew that she could survive without indoor plumbing, but that was the ideal period of her life, a time that she tries to recreate. I think that for memoir readers, it's not about a freak show– they’re just looking to understand people and get into a life that’s not their own. I thought, let me give it a shot, let me ask Mom. And she was all for it. But she kept insisting that the book should really be about her mother. At first I resisted because my grandmother, Lily Casey Smith, died when I was eight years old, more than 40 years ago. But I have a very vivid memory of this tough, leathery woman; she sang, she danced, she shot guns, she’d play honky tonk piano. I was always captivated by her. Lily had told such compelling stories—I was stunned by the number of anecdotes, and that Mom knew so much detail about them. Half Broke Horses is a compilation of family stories, stitched together with gaps filled in. They're the sort of tales that pretty much everyone has heard from their parents or grandparents. I realized that in telling Lily's story, I could also explain Mom's.

    Q: Why did you decide to write Half Broke Horses in the first person, and how much of this "true-life novel" is fiction?

    A: I set out to write a biography of Lily, but sometimes books take on a life of their own. I told it in first person because I wanted to capture Lily’s voice. I’m a lot like my grandmother, so it came easily to me. I planned to go back and change it from first person to third person and put in qualifiers so the book would be historically accurate, but when I showed it to my agent and publisher, they both said to leave it as it is. By doing that, I crossed the line from nonfiction into fiction. But when I call it fiction it’s not because I tarted it up and tried to embellish things, but wanted to make it more readable, fluid, and immediate. I was trying to get as close to the truth as I could.

    Q: How has your relationship with your mother changed in recent years?

    A: Several years ago, the abandoned building on New York’s Lower East Side where Mom had been squatting for more than a decade caught fire and she was back on the streets again at age 72. I begged her to come live with me. She said Virginia was too boring, and besides, she's not a freeloader. I told her we could really use help with the horses, and she said she'd be right there. I get along great with Mom now. She's a hoot. She's always upbeat, and has a very different take on life than most people. She's a lot of fun to be around -- as long as you're not looking for her to take care of you. She doesn’t live in the house with us-- I have not reached that level of understanding and compassion-- but in an outbuilding about a hundred yards away. Mom is great with the animals, loves to sing and dance and ride horses, and is still painting like a fiend.

    Q: What do you hope readers will gain from reading your books?

    A:Since writing The Glass Castle, so many people have said to me, "Oh, you’re so strong and you’re so resilient, and I couldn’t do what you did." That’s very flattering, but it’s nonsense. Of course they’re as strong as I am. I just had the great fortune of having been tested. If we look at our ancestry, we all come from tough roots. And one of the ways to discover our toughness and our resiliency is to look back at where we come from. I hope people who read The Glass Castle and Half Broke Horses will come away with that. You know, "Gosh, I come from hearty stock. Maybe I’m tougher than I realize."


    ... Read more

    Features:

    • ISBN13:
    • Condition: USED - Very Good
    • Notes: BUY WITH CONFIDENCE, Over one million books sold! 98% Positive feedback. Compare our books, prices and service to the competition. 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

    Similar Items:
    1. Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
    2. The Silver Star: A Novel
    3. Excellent Sheep: The Miseducation of the American Elite and the Way to a Meaningful Life
    4. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    5. A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier
    6. Curious: The Desire to Know and Why Your Future Depends On It
    7. The Glass Castle: A BookCaps Study Guide
    8. The Woman Warrior: Memoirs of a Girlhood Among Ghosts
    9. The Things They Carried
    10. The Color of Water: A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother .


    4. What to Expect When You're Expecting
    by Heidi Murkoff
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$15.95
    US$10.04
    US$5.91 (37%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Workman Publishing Company
    (2016-05-31)
    Publisher: Workman Publishing Company
    ISBN: 0761187480
    Sales Rank: 86
    Lowest New Price: $7.83
    Lowest Used Price: $1.01 (65 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    A completely revised and updated edition of America’s pregnancy bible, the longest-running New York Times bestseller ever.

    With 18.5 million copies in print, What to Expect When You’re Expecting is read by 93% of women who read a pregnancy book and was named one of the “Most Influential Books of the Last 25 Years” by USA Today.

    This cover-to-cover (including the cover!) new edition is filled with must-have information, advice, insight, and tips for a new generation of moms and dads. With What to Expect’s trademark warmth, empathy, and humor, it answers every conceivable question expecting parents could have, including dozens of new ones based on the ever-changing pregnancy and birthing practices and choices they face. Advice for dads is fully integrated throughout the book. All medical coverage is completely updated, including the latest on Zika virus, prenatal screening, and the safety of medications during pregnancy, as well as a brand-new section on postpartum birth control. Current lifestyle trends are incorporated, too: juice bars, raw diets, e-cigarettes, push presents, baby bump posting, the lowdown on omega-3 fatty acids, grass-fed and organic, health food fads, and GMOs. Plus expanded coverage of IVF pregnancy, multiple pregnancies, breastfeeding while pregnant, water and home births, and cesarean trends (including VBACs and “gentle cesareans”).

     

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Workman Publishing

    Similar Items:
    1. What to Expect When Your Wife Is Expanding: A Reassuring Month-by-Month Guide for the Father-to-Be, Whether He Wants Advice or Not(3rd Edition)
    2. The Expectant Father: The Ultimate Guide for Dads-to-Be
    3. Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy: From Doctors Who Are Parents, Too!
    4. What to Expect: Eating Well When You're Expecting
    5. The Whole 9 Months: A Week-By-Week Pregnancy Nutrition Guide with Recipes for a Healthy Start
    6. Dude, You're Gonna Be a Dad!: How to Get (Both of You) Through the Next 9 Months
    7. The What to Expect Pregnancy Journal & Organizer
    8. What to Expect the First Year
    9. What to Eat When You're Pregnant: A Week-by-Week Guide to Support Your Health and Your Baby's Development
    10. What to Expect Before You're Expecting .


    5. The Vanishing American Adult: Our Coming-of-Age Crisis--and How to Rebuild a Culture of Self-Reliance
    by Ben Sasse
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$27.99
    US$16.75
    US$11.24 (40%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: St Martin s Press
    (2017-05-16)
    Publisher: St. Martin's Press
    ISBN: 1250114403
    Sales Rank: 429
    Lowest New Price: $12.15
    Lowest Used Price: $12.50 (31 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

    In an era of safe spaces, trigger warnings, and an unprecedented election, the country's youth are in crisis. Senator Ben Sasse warns the nation about the existential threat to America's future.

    Raised by well-meaning but overprotective parents and coddled by well-meaning but misbegotten government programs, America's youth are ill-equipped to survive in our highly-competitive global economy.

    Many of the coming-of-age rituals that have defined the American experience since the Founding: learning the value of working with your hands, leaving home to start a family, becoming economically self-reliant―are being delayed or skipped altogether. The statistics are daunting: 30% of college students drop out after the first year, and only 4 in 10 graduate. One in three 18-to-34 year-olds live with their parents.

    From these disparate phenomena: Nebraska Senator Ben Sasse who as president of a Midwestern college observed the trials of this generation up close, sees an existential threat to the American way of life.

    In The Vanishing American Adult, Sasse diagnoses the causes of a generation that can't grow up and offers a path for raising children to become active and engaged citizens. He identifies core formative experiences that all young people should pursue: hard work to appreciate the benefits of labor, travel to understand deprivation and want, the power of reading, the importance of nurturing your body―and explains how parents can encourage them.

    Our democracy depends on responsible, contributing adults to function properly―without them America falls prey to populist demagogues. A call to arms, The Vanishing American Adult will ignite a much-needed debate about the link between the way we're raising our children and the future of our country.

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • St Martin s Press

    Similar Items:
    1. Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life...And Maybe the World
    2. Written Out of History: The Forgotten Founders Who Fought Big Government
    3. Two Paths: America Divided or United
    4. Rediscovering Americanism: And the Tyranny of Progressivism
    5. The Leader's Bookshelf
    6. The Tech-Wise Family: Everyday Steps for Putting Technology in Its Proper Place
    7. The Disappearance of Childhood
    8. The Righteous Mind: Why Good People Are Divided by Politics and Religion
    9. The American Spirit: Who We Are and What We Stand For
    10. Reclaiming Conversation: The Power of Talk in a Digital Age .


    6. Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body
    by Roxane Gay
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$25.99
    US$15.46
    US$10.53 (41%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: HARPER
    (2017-06-13)
    Publisher: Harper
    ISBN: 0062362593
    Sales Rank: 298
    Lowest New Price: $5.48
    Lowest Used Price: $11.00 (27 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    The Instant New York Times Bestseller

     

    From the New York Times best-selling author of Bad Feminist, a searingly honest memoir of food, weight, self-image, and learning how to feed your hunger while taking care of yourself.

     

    “I ate and ate and ate in the hopes that if I made myself big, my body would be safe. I buried the girl I was because she ran into all kinds of trouble. I tried to erase every memory of her, but she is still there, somewhere. . . . I was trapped in my body, one that I barely recognized or understood, but at least I was safe.”

     

    New York Times bestselling author Roxane Gay has written with intimacy and sensitivity about food and bodies, using her own emotional and psychological struggles as a means of exploring our shared anxieties over pleasure, consumption, appearance, and health. As a woman who describes her own body as “wildly undisciplined,” Roxane understands the tension between desire and denial, between self-comfort and self-care. In Hunger, she casts an insightful and critical eye on her childhood, teens, and twenties—including the devastating act of violence that acted as a turning point in her young life—and brings readers into the present and the realities, pains, and joys of her daily life.

     

    With the bracing candor, vulnerability, and authority that have made her one of the most admired voices of her generation, Roxane explores what it means to be overweight in a time when the bigger you are, the less you are seen. Hunger is a deeply personal memoir from one of our finest writers, and tells a story that hasn’t yet been told but needs to be.  

     

    Amazon.com Review

    An Amazon Best Book of June 2017: If you’re a woman in America, chances are, no matter your size, you probably have a somewhat fetishistic relationship with food. We obsess over having too much, too little (to a lesser degree); we use terms like stealing a bite and guilty pleasure--things that evoke shame, and are meant to keep our bodies in line. For those that fit that (ever narrowing) bill, congratulations! Clothes are designed to fit you, kale growers love you, and so does society. You bask in its glow. The rest risk being in shadow, which is exactly where Roxane Gay wanted to be. In her brutally honest and brave memoir Hunger, Gay recounts a childhood sexual assault that led her to purposely gain weight in order to be unseen and therefore “safe.” Gay warns at the beginning of the book that if you’re looking for a triumphant weight loss memoir, this is not it. But Hunger is a triumph nonetheless. It’s a story not easily told, but the telling set her free. And through Gay’s experience we learn one of lessons she eventually did, that “all of us have to be more considerate of the realities of the bodies of others,” and more accepting of our own. --Erin Kodicek, The Amazon Book Review

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • HARPER

    Similar Items:
    1. Bad Feminist: Essays
    2. Difficult Women
    3. We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.: Essays
    4. Shrill
    5. Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud: The Rise and Reign of the Unruly Woman
    6. You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir
    7. The Bright Hour: A Memoir of Living and Dying
    8. Surpassing Certainty: What My Twenties Taught Me
    9. An Untamed State
    10. Sex Object: A Memoir .


    7. Becoming Brilliant: What Science Tells us About Raising Successful Children (APA Lifetools: Books for the General Public)
    by Roberta Michnick Golinkoff PhD, Kathy Hirsh-Pasek PhD
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$19.95
    US$17.77
    US$2.18 (11%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Kathy Hirsh Pasek Roberta M Golinkoff
    (2016-05-15)
    Publisher: American Psychological Association (APA)
    ISBN: 1433822393
    Sales Rank: 1788
    Lowest New Price: $17.76
    Lowest Used Price: $17.26 (6 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    A New York Times Bestseller!


    Bronze medal winner of the Living Now Book Awards for Parenting!


    In just a few years, today's children and teens will forge careers that look nothing like those that were available to their parents or grandparents. While the U.S. economy becomes ever more information-driven, our system of education seems stuck on the idea that "content is king," neglecting other skills that 21st century citizens sorely need.


    Becoming Brilliant offers solutions that parents can implement right now. Backed by the latest scientific evidence and illustrated with examples of what's being done right in schools today, this book introduces the "6Cs" collaboration, communication, content, critical thinking, creative innovation, and confidence along with ways parents can nurture their children s development in each area.

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Becoming Brilliant What Science Tells Us about Raising Successful Children

    Similar Items:
    1. The Whole-Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child's Developing Mind
    2. No-Drama Discipline: The Whole-Brain Way to Calm the Chaos and Nurture Your Child's Developing Mind
    3. Einstein Never Used Flashcards: How Our Children Really Learn--and Why They Need to Play More and Memorize Less
    4. The Importance of Being Little: What Young Children Really Need from Grownups
    5. General Relativity for Babies (Baby University)
    6. Rocket Science for Babies (Baby University)
    7. Quantum Physics for Babies (Baby University)
    8. The Gardener and the Carpenter: What the New Science of Child Development Tells Us About the Relationship Between Parents and Children
    9. Newtonian Physics for Babies (Baby University)
    10. How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk .


    8. The Knot Ultimate Wedding Planner & Organizer [binder edition]: Worksheets, Checklists, Etiquette, Calendars, and Answers to Frequently Asked Questions
    by Carley Roney
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$29.99Potter Style117698116928010391BookABIS_BOOK2013-01-01Potter Style2013-01-01Potter StyleThe Knot Ultimate Wedding Planner & Organizer [binder edition]: Worksheets, Checklists, Etiquette, Calendars, and Answers to Frequently Asked Questions150USD$1.50
    US$19.76
    US$10.23 (34%)
    Category: Calendar Brand: Kathy Hirsh Pasek Roberta M Golinkoff
    (2013-01-01)
    Publisher: Potter Style
    ISBN: 0770433367
    Sales Rank: 203
    Lowest New Price: $12.40
    Lowest Used Price: $10.00 (46 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    For the first time, the go-to wedding website, The Knot, has compiled all their essential planning tools—and dozens of new ideas—into this beautiful wedding organizer.

    Inside you will find:
     • Detailed timelines and worksheets for scheduling and budgeting 
     • Planning and money-saving tips on everything from the dress to the music to the reception decor  
     • 8 tabbed dividers packed with visual inspiration, including more than 100 color photos of centerpieces, table settings, favors, and more 
     • A perforated color swatch page for mixing and matching your own wedding palette 
     • Extensive information on choosing your vendors, including checklists of key questions to ask 
     • Ideas for the twenty-first-century bride, including how to use online tools and mobile for maximum convenience
     • Pockets for collecting inspiring tearsheets, important contracts, and business cards 
     • Removable stickers on the front, spine, and back so you can make the binder your own

    The Knot Ultimate Wedding Planner
    & Organizer is an indispensable resource—and a lovely keepsake after the meaningful, joyful, and customized celebration you’re sure to have.

    ... Read more

    Similar Items:
    1. The Knot Book of Wedding Lists: The Ultimate Guide to the Perfect Day, Down to the Smallest Detail
    2. The Groom's Instruction Manual: How to Survive and Possibly Even Enjoy the Most Bewildering Ceremony Known to Man (Owner's and Instruction Manual)
    3. The Broke-Ass Bride's Wedding Guide: Hundreds of Tips and Tricks for Hitting Your Budget
    4. A Practical Wedding Planner: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating the Wedding You Want with the Budget You've Got (without Losing Your Mind in the Process)
    5. The Everything Mother of the Bride Book: The Ultimate Wedding Planning Guide for Mom! (Everything Series)
    6. The Bride-to-Be Book: A Journal of Memories From the Proposal to "I Do"
    7. The Bride's Instruction Manual: How to Survive and Possibly Even Enjoy the Biggest Day of Your Life (Owner's and Instruction Manual)
    8. A Practical Wedding: Creative Ideas for Planning a Beautiful, Affordable, and Meaningful Celebration
    9. The Wedding Planner & Organizer
    10. I'm Getting Meowied Mug - The Coffee Corner - 11 Ounce White Ceramic Coffee or Tea Mug - Engagement Gift, Gift for Fiancee, Bride Gifts, Bridal Shower Gifts .


    9. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens
    by Sean Covey
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$16.99
    US$12.79
    US$4.2 (25%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Simon & Schuster
    (2014-05-27)
    Publisher: Touchstone
    ISBN: 1476764662
    Sales Rank: 237
    Lowest New Price: $7.83
    Lowest Used Price: $3.57 (98 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    With more than five million copies in print all around the world, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens is the ultimate teenage success guide—now updated for the digital age.

    Imagine you had a roadmap—a step-by-step guide to help you get from where you are now, to where you want to be in the future. Your goals, your dreams, your plans…they are all within reach. You just need the tools to help you get there.

    That’s what Sean Covey’s landmark book, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens, has been to millions of teens: a handbook to self-esteem and success. Now updated for the digital age, this classic book applies the timeless principles of the 7 Habits to the tough issues and life-changing decisions teens face. In an entertaining style, Covey provides a simple approach to help teens improve self-image, build friendships, resist peer pressure, achieve their goals, and get along with their parents, as well as tackle the new challenges of our time, like cyberbullying and social media. In addition, this book is stuffed with cartoons, clever ideas, great quotes, and incredible stories about real teens from all over the world.

    An indispensable book for teens, as well as parents, teachers, counselors, or any adult who works with teens, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens has become the last word on surviving and thriving as a teen and beyond.

    “If The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens doesn’t help you, then you must have a perfect life already.”–Jordan McLaughlin, Age 17

    Amazon.com Review

    Based on his father's bestselling The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, Sean Covey applies the same principles to teens, using a vivacious, entertaining style. To keep it fun, Covey writes, he "stuffed it full of cartoons, clever ideas, great quotes, and incredible stories about real teens from all over the world... along with a few other surprises." Did he ever! Flip open to any page and become instantly absorbed in real-life stories of teens who have overcome obstacles to succeed, and step-by-step guides to shifting paradigms, building equity in "relationship bank accounts," creating action plans, and much more.

    As a self-acknowledged guinea pig for many of his dad's theories, Sean Covey is a living example of someone who has taken each of the seven habits to heart: be proactive; begin with the end in mind; put first things first; think win-win; seek first to understand, then to be understood; synergize; and sharpen the saw. He includes a comical section titled "The 7 Habits of Highly Defective Teens," which includes some, shall we say, counterproductive practices: put first things last; don't cooperate; seek first to talk, then pretend to listen; wear yourself out... Covey's humorous and up-front style is just light enough to be acceptable to wary teenagers, and down-and-dirty enough to really make a difference. (Ages 13 and older) --Emilie Coulter

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens

    Similar Items:
    1. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens Workbook
    2. The 6 Most Important Decisions You'll Ever Make: A Guide for Teens
    3. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens Personal Workbook
    4. The 7 Habits of Happy Kids
    5. PRENTICE HALL LITERATURE TIMELESS VOICES TIMLESS THEMES STUDENT EDITION GRADE 11 REVISED 7TH EDITION 2005C
    6. The Andromeda Strain
    7. The Bible (student book): The Living Word of God (Living in Christ)
    8. The Pigman
    9. The 6 Most Important Decisions You'll Ever Make: A Guide for Teens: Updated for the Digital Age
    10. The Success Principles for Teens: How to Get From Where You Are to Where You Want to Be .


    10. Go the F**k to Sleep
    by Adam Mansbach
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$14.95
    US$13.46
    US$1.49 (10%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: Akashic Books
    (2011-06-14)
    Publisher: Akashic Books
    ISBN: 1617750255
    Sales Rank: 188
    Lowest New Price: $8.14
    Lowest Used Price: $1.01 (113 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    "Nothing has driven home a certain truth about my generation, which is approaching the apex of its childbearing years, quite like this."
    --The New Yorker

    "A parenting zeitgeist"
    --Washington Post

    "A hilarious take on that age-old problem: getting the beloved child to go to sleep."
    --National Public Radio

    "A new Bible for weary parents"
    --New York Times

    "Resonates powerfully with almost everyone"
    --Boston Globe

    "Go the F*** to Sleep challenges stereotypes, opens up prototypes, and acknowledges that shared sense of failure that comes to all parents who weary of ever getting their darling(s) to sleep and briefly resuming the illusion of a life of their own."
    --Midwest Book Review

    Go the F*** to Sleep is a bedtime book for parents who live in the real world, where a few snoozing kitties and cutesy rhymes don't always send a toddler sailing blissfully off to dreamland. Profane, affectionate, and radically honest, California Book Award-winning author Adam Mansbach's verses perfectly capture the familiar--and unspoken--tribulations of putting your little angel down for the night. In the process, they open up a conversation about parenting, granting us permission to admit our frustrations, and laugh at their absurdity.

    With illustrations by Ricardo Cortes, Go the F*** to Sleep is beautiful, subversive, and pants-wettingly funny--a book for parents new, old, and expectant. You probably should not read it to your children.

    Seriously, Just Go to Sleep, a children's book inspired by Go the F*** to Sleep and appropriate for kids of all ages, is also available, as well as Seriously, You Have to Eat for finicky ones everywhere!

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Great product!

    Similar Items:
    1. You Have to F*****g Eat
    2. Nobody Likes a Cockblock
    3. If You Give a Mommy a Glass of Wine
    4. Seriously, Just Go to Sleep
    5. Toddlers Are A**holes: It's Not Your Fault
    6. Experimenting with Babies: 50 Amazing Science Projects You Can Perform on Your Kid
    7. Safe Baby Handling Tips
    8. The Sh!t No One Tells You: A Guide to Surviving Your Baby's First Year
    9. How to Traumatize Your Children: 7 Proven Methods to Help You Screw Up Your Kids Deliberately and with Skill
    10. Your Baby's First Word Will Be DADA .


    1-10 of 316314 Results       Next

    Questions on ordering or shipping? click here for help.

    Copyright © 1998-2007 geometry.net

    contact: info@n2000.com